Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


21 MP aspirants including AL’s Palak, Shakib showcaused

Staff Reporter:

The Election Commission issued show cause notices to 21 candidates by Thursday night, including State Minister for Telecommunications and ICT Zunaid Ahmed Palak and Shakib Al Hasan, the star cricketer and AL-nominated candidate for Magura-1 constituency, for violating the electoral code of conduct ahead of the general election.

Shakib has been directed to appear before the election search committee in person at 3 pm on Friday respond to the notice, said EC sources.

The notice, signed by Joint District and Sessions Judge Satyabrata Shikder, who leads the Magura-1 election search committee, reads, “You, Shakib Al Hasan, entered Magura city with a convoy from Kamarkhali area on 29 November after being declared as the Awami League-nominated candidate from Magura-1 constituency.”

According to the notice, Shakib attended mass receptions, causing disruptions in traffic on the road, a fact reported by several media outlets.

“By doing so, you have violated the provisions of sections 6(d), 8(a), 10(a), and 12 of the Code of Conduct for Political Parties and Candidates,” highlights the notice.

Shakib has been asked to submit a written reply explaining why legal action should not be taken against him for breaching the electoral code of conduct, EC Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath confirmed to reporters.

On a separate note, the EC also issued show cause notices to the State Minister for Disaster Management and Relief, and Dhaka-19 constituency Awami League nominated candidate Dr Md Enamur Rahman, and AL nominated candidate for Narayanganj-1 Golam Dastagir Gazi for violating the electoral code and conduct.

The inquiry committee has requested their replies by 10 am on Friday.

The other MP aspirants who have been served show cause notices by the EC include Zahid Ahsan Russel, State minister of ministry of youth and sports; former minister and present MP from Narsingdi-5 Rajiuddin Ahmed Raju; former state minister for women and children affairs Meher Afroz Chumki; JP lawmaker from Dhaka-6 Kazi Firoz Rashid, Faridpur-4 constituency independent candidate Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury, alias Nixon Chowdhury; Laxmipur-3 constituency AL candidate Golam Faruk Pinku; Laxmipur-2 constituency AL candidate advocate Nooruddin Choudhury Nayon; and Sunamganj-4 constituency JP candidate Pir Fazlur Rahman Misbah.

Mustafizur Rahman Chowdhury, AL candidate for Chattogram-16 (Banshkhali) constituency, is alleged to have assaulted a journalist. The EC has served a show-cause notice on him in connection with this incident.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora.


Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat.


Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum.


Staff Reporter: Members of Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) in separate drives seized 2.60 lakh yaba pills and 1.05 kg of crystal meth in Teknaf...

Copyright © 2023 The Good Morning. All Rights Reserved.
Editor and Publisher: Enayet Hossain Khan
70, Pioneer Road, Kakrail, Dhaka- 1000, Bangladesh.
Phone: +88-01711424112, +88-01847255828
Designed & Maintained By TECHIENET SOFTWARE ltd.