Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


7 leaders, 8000 guests to attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Staff Reporter:

Seven leaders from the neighborhood and Indian Ocean region including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and 8000 other guests from various professions are set to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to be held this evening.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, who was invited, among other leaders, by the Indian Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi, has already reached the Indian capital New Delhi yesterday to attend the high-profile event to be held at Rashtrapati Bhaban today evening.
A special flight of Biman Bangladesh Airlines carrying the prime minister and her entourage members landed at the Palam Air Force Station, the VVIP airport, in New Delhi 11:51 am (local time).
Modi is going to take oath as Prime Minister for the third consecutive term as the BJP-led NDA alliance secured the majority seats in the recently held Indian Lok Sabha election. He will be the first three-term Prime Minister since Congress stalwart Jawaharlal Nehru.
President of India Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the prime minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7:15pm today, according to a statement issued by President’s secretariat of India yesterday.
Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Seychelles Vice-President Ahmed Afif, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal Prime Minister Push-pa Kamal Dahal Prachanda and Bhutanese Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay are invited to attend the cer-emony, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) said in a statement available in its website.
Media reports, however, said that security has been beefed up in the Indian capital New Delhi ahead of the event. A multi-layered security plan has been implemented at Rashtrapati Bhawan with five compa-nies of paramilitary personnel, NSG commandos, drones, and snipers, The Hindustan Times reported yesterday.
A public advisory declared a No-Fly Zone over Delhi, prohibiting the use of various aerial platforms to prevent threats from criminal or terrorist activities during the ceremony. This restriction will be in effect from June 9 to 10, with violators facing penalties under Section 188 of the Indian Penal Code, it said.
Besides, enhanced security measures are in place for foreign dignitaries, including special protocols at their hotels.
In addition to participating in the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will attend a Banquet hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the same evening.
Sheikh Hasina will hold a tete-a-tete (one-to-one meeting) with Narendra Modi after joining the oath-taking ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhaban at 7:20 pm on Sunday, official sources said here yesterday.
According to sources, the Bangladesh premier will also attend various programmes in New Delhi on Sunday. She will leave New Delhi for Dhaka at 5pm on Monday (local time).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora.


Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat.


Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum.


Staff Reporter: Members of Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) in separate drives seized 2.60 lakh yaba pills and 1.05 kg of crystal meth in Teknaf...

Copyright © 2023 The Good Morning. All Rights Reserved.
Editor and Publisher: Enayet Hossain Khan
70, Pioneer Road, Kakrail, Dhaka- 1000, Bangladesh.
Phone: +88-01711424112, +88-01847255828
Designed & Maintained By TECHIENET SOFTWARE ltd.