Tuesday, Oct 27th

Last update04:51:45 PM GMT

You are here::

By-polls in Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 today

E-mail Print PDF

ec elecBy-elections to two parliamentary constituencies – Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 will be held today from 9 am to 5 pm through using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The Election Commission (EC) has already completed all the preparations for holding the polls in a fair and peaceful environment.

A total of six candidates are contesting in Dhaka-5 constituency and three candidates are contesting in Naogaon-6 constituency.

Candidates contesting in Dhaka-5 by are- Awami League (AL) backed M Kazi Monirul Islam, BNP nominated Salah Uddin Ahmed, Gonofront backed H M Ibrahim Bhuiyan, Jatiya Party nominated Mir Abdus Sabur, M Ansar Rahman Shikder of Bangladesh Congress and M Arifur Rahman alias Suman Master of Bangladesh Peoples Party.

Candidates contesting in Naogaon-6 are- M Anwar Hossain (Helal) nominated by AL, BNP nominated Sheikh Mohammad Rezaul Islam and the National People’s Party’s Khandaker Intekhab Alam.

The seats become vacant after the death of Habibur Rahman Mollah in Dhaka on May 8 and Israfil Alam in Naogaon on July 28.

According to Election Commission (EC), voting will be held in 187 polling stations in 14 wards in Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC). There are 4 lakh 71 thousand 129 voters here.

Voting will be held in 104 stations of 16 unions of Naogaon-6 constituency comprising Raninagar and Atrai. The total number of voters here is 3 lakh 6 thousand 725 people.

In order to maintain law and order, two Judicial Magistrates and 14 Executive Magistrates have been serving in the Dhaka-5 elections since October 15.

At the same time, the same number of Judicial Magistrates and Executive Magistrates will be performing their duties in Naogaon.

The official campaign ended in both the seats from 9 am on Thursday.

Some public transport have been banned from midnight on Friday to midnight on Saturday.

Additional members of the law enforcement force have been deployed.